Walking the Dogs this Morning

While walking the dogs this morning I happened upon what I thought was a good idea for the yard. These hot Houston summers are not only tough on us, they are brutal on our lawns! A Willowbend area neighbor has a great idea to combat the heat that I wanted to share.

That narrow patch of grass between the street and sidewalk always takes a beating. Here’s what she did to add color and beauty!
Crushed granite as the foundation, ivy ground cover in the center with potted garden cabbage, lettuce and a brilliant purple flower.

I just love this! Can any one identify the purple flower? I’d love to add it to my garden.

20121130-095553.jpg

20121130-095606.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Neighborhood News

Leave a Reply

